Recognise yourself. Beauty despite cancer. Read the latest reviews courtesy of Macmillan Cancer Support

 

Recognise yourself. Beauty despite cancer. (2015)
A practical guide to maintaining your appearance and well-being as you go through surgery, chemotherapy, radiotherapy, or experience hair loss

Young J.
Lotus Publishing, 2015. 288pp.
ISBN 9781905367597. £14.99.

Average star rating 4.3 (out of 5)

Macmillan Cancer Support 89 Albert Embankment London SE1 7UQ

These reviews were written by people affected by cancer and are their personal views and are not the views of Macmillan Cancer Support. These reviews, and the publications reviewed, should not be relied upon as a substitute for specialist professional advice tailored to your situation. So far as is permitted by law, Macmillan does not accept liability in relation to the use of any information contained in this review or publication or third party information or websites included or referred to in it. For more information about the review process and how to get involved, please go to the end of this document.

 

It is clear from the cover that this book is for someone who has undergone surgery and chemotherapy or radiology; a large proportion of the book addresses how to manage the emotional, physical and mental changes that may result from these treatments. However, it will also be useful for partners, carers and health professionals, enabling them to help the patient with their concerns, worries and next steps. Although the advice (such as wig fitting, recreating eyebrows) can be found in other places, this book brings it all together along with other advice on how to dress your new body, sleep and nutrition; this makes it a good all-encompassing guide.

It flows well, for example dealing with hair loss from treatment, through regrowth, to ‘moving on’. It is written for the lay reader and very easy to understand. The tone is supportive, explanatory and empathetic. It is a very attractive book with an appealing, colourful front cover and could be a beauty book for anyone. It is a handy size and can be read in sections. It uses lots of colour and photographs – the photos of the same model without hair and with wigs are very positive as she looks so attractive! The typeface is quite large and easy to read. The author has sought advice from a number of specialist professionals who form the “Beauty Despite Cancer” group behind this book and everything is in the same accessible, almost conversational style. There are also quotations from patients.

This is a helpful, practical guide written by professionals with the benefit of experience and is a good ‘all-encompassing’ guide for people undergoing changes to their appearance and wellbeing due to treatment and hair loss. It is also attractive and positive when so much of the effects of treatment can be seen as negative. It is indeed a ‘practical guide’, covering a wide range of issues with lots of hints and help. The photographs are good – stylish and attractive but realistic! I particularly like the amount of colour, layout and written style.

It is quite expensive but looks and feels like a quality publication and you would not need many others for help with the same issues. Whilst the information and advice is relevant to men, the cover and images are feminine (eg showing female wigs and makeup) and I am not sure men would pick it up. A version for men would be good.

Breast cancer survivor (46-55) (December 2015)

‘Beauty despite cancer: recognise yourself’ describes itself as a practical guide to maintaining your appearance and well-being as you go through surgery, chemotherapy, or radiotherapy, or experience hair loss. It is written by Jennifer Young, who created the Beauty Despite Cancer company that sells a range of cosmetic items for people who have cancer and for those who wish to understand these needs and possibly buy a gift for a loved one who is going through treatment.

The book is mainly targeted at a female readership but there is plenty to interest many men too: hair loss; cosmetic tattooing; scalp and wig care; dental issues; and various therapies. It addresses the needs of those who wish to disguise the visible signs of cancer and will be useful for helping people to look as beautiful as possible, which brings with it personal confidence.

The book travels from diagnosis to life after treatment and moving on. Specific chapters cover: Hair (cooling, scalp care, wigs. headwear and regrowth); Face (skincare, make up); Body (nails, style, lingerie, bras); Self (nutrition, moving on). There are also appendices by invited experts, including a piece on dental hygiene, how to read an ingredients label, anti-ageing recipes, wig care, ‘why me?’ and ‘should I tell the children?’ The main aim of the book is to show you how to prevent, reduce, disguise, camouflage and soothe appearance-related side effects. It has a kindly and down-to-earth tone, and the author is generous with her tips and information. For example, most people will never before have considered the possibility of choosing, wearing and caring for a wig, and the associated challenges of an itchy scalp. The author takes a step-by-step approach and assumes no knowledge of the subject. She also explains options regarding the reconstruction of eyebrows and eyelashes and issues surrounding cooling hats, which may reduce chemotherapy hair loss.

It is simply and concisely written and laid out, so that the reader can easily find the subject of interest. Clearly marked chapters that explore single issues make it simple to refer to and it is a very easy read. There is no jargon and relevant research studies are listed at the end. The author does not pretend to be knowledgeable in all the subjects covered and invites professionals to contribute relevant chapters (eg Sleep tips, Life after treatment).

It is square shaped, and the text is relatively large (16 pt font), on heavy paper with a shiny cover. It has a colourful cover, showing positive images of happy women. The many photos inside were taken by top-ranking photographers who gave their services free of charge. Most of the photos are facial shots of attractive, smiling women who have had cancer, and who are wearing makeup, wigs or chemo hats. The overall impression is very positive, and the content generally reflects this.

We all know that beauty is only skin deep, and while acknowledging that, the author quotes from research that shows that physical attractiveness is a major concern of women and men who are facing cancer treatment. One woman is quoted as saying that she just wants to be seen as a mum with her young child in a pushchair, not an obvious ‘cancer patient with hair loss’ to people she meets. No one can argue with that. Nevertheless, there are some people who may find the focus on physical beauty to be yet another worry for someone tackling the challenges that cancer presents. For those people, there may be still much important information in this book, such as the sections on nutrition, dental care, choosing headwear, and moving on after treatment. For me, it failed to recognise the importance of inner beauty and self acceptance – the idea that being beautiful does not just mean conforming to social expectations of looking good in terms of disguising the effects of cancer through make up, wigs, hats. Other people will undoubtedly disagree. Nevertheless, there is plenty of information on associated issues eg dental care, hygiene, scalp care to make this a worthwhile purchase.

The author has no pretentions of being the fount of all knowledge. She sticks to what she is experienced in and qualified to say. The book does not address issues of visible difference following head and neck surgery. For those who wish to address the deeper, psycho-social aspects of a changed appearance and the maintenance of self esteem and confidence, then this book can be complemented by the services of a medical charity called Changing Faces.

I would recommend this book as a valuable resource for those who are facing cancer treatment and to those close to them, as part of a wider range of information too.

Former medical professional, friend/relative of people with cancer (56-65) (January 2016)

This lovely book is ideal for use before, during or even after treatment, for dealing with the side effects of treatment and daily life with cancer. It flows well and you can dip in and out and find what you want easily. It is well written and easy to understand with lots of research and references to websites and other resources throughout. The design doesn’t shout ‘CANCER!’; it looks like an everyday health book.

This is a lovely book with some helpful advice. It is honest without being negative about cancer treatment. I love all the tips and useful advice that are not covered by your cancer nurse. It is particularly useful to read it before treatment begins and then use throughout treatment as a reference book.

Breast cancer patient (36-45) (November 2015)

This book will help you to feel human when you are going through treatment and the changes that happen to you. It is split into logical chapters and you can jump to what you feel is relevant to you. The chapters have good titles and this will help people to think of other areas that they’d like to work on. It’s really easy to understand, even for guys. I like the size and format but the cover could have some more modern images. I definitely recommend it to any woman affected by cancer, or those supporting her.

Living with breast cancer (36-45) (December 2015)

This is best read before treatment and is useful for people with cancer and their partners. It is very easy to understand with good photos. It explains everything about your journey as you undergo treatment and kept me turning the pages.

Living with thyroid cancer (36-45) (February 2016)

This excellent book has some great ideas to keep you looking well. It is very easy to understand and the instructions are easy to follow. It is very appealing with beautiful illustrations and lots of ideas. It’s a lovely size and can be carried in your handbag.

I like everything about this book. I found it very helpful and would have loved to have read it when I was diagnosed. I definitely recommend this book to other ladies going through treatment.

Breast cancer patient (36-45) (December 2015)

This is a practical guide to looking your best whilst undergoing cancer treatment. Even those who suffer generally from skin, nail, hair and a host of other all-important associated health problems could find great advice and tips within its pages.

The contents are presented in a logical, colour-coded order and flow well, with the inclusion of nice illustrated pictures. It’s easy to focus on a particular topic such as hair, wigs, skincare or body and there is concise yet comprehensive advice for each topic. I particularly like the section on ‘Body’ and think ‘Nails’, ‘Your Look’, ‘Lingerie’ and ‘Bras’ cover much-needed information.

It’s a very easy read with a contents list, references and index. There are also eight very informative appendixes. The language is clear and concise and the author’s deep understanding of the multiple changes endured by cancer patients is very gratifying. The pocket-size paperback is a plus. It seems most ‘beauty bibles’ are too large to carry. I like the title and the cover – a prelude to the contents – the very good quality paper, the clear and largish font, and the text interspersed with photos and interesting informative quotes from selected contributors.

I like how the author has used her expert knowledge of skincare and beauty to enable cancer patients to see themselves in another way, accept themselves and their changing appearance, offering simple solutions to make a difference not only to how you look but most importantly to how you feel about yourself. The one-page advice is excellent, eg: False eyelash application (p.110); A troubleshooting guide for nails changed by chemotherapy (p. 144) and Brow guide (p.105). Appendices 7 (What is a cream?), 8 (How to read an ingredients label, and 9 (Good dental hygiene during treatment) are excellent and contain information not commonly given.

I think every woman diagnosed with cancer would enjoy this book. It’s a real incentive to look after yourself during the ups and downs of treatment and beyond. I was completely unaware of the myriad of options available for appearance-related issues and it would have greatly helped my sister, my carer, with the physical and emotional turbulence I went through. It is also a book that men could read; there is a whole section devoted to them plus information on nutrition and lifestyle.

A wonderful resource for anyone going through cancer. A great gift and a ‘must have’ in any cancer centre and clinic.

Breast cancer survivor (56-65) (January 2016)

The main audience for this book is those who have cancer or who are very close to or caring for someone with cancer. However, it is really uplifting and could be used by anyone who has taken a hit to their self esteem. It does a great job of reminding you of the basics. It reminds you how to love yourself again without being patronising. It answers the questions that we feel too embarrassed to ask.

It is well structured and ordered. Each section follows on well from the last and is simply laid out without too much to read at any one time. It is really easy to understand and uses language that any reader could relate to. It covers every section without skipping a beat and as a result, caters for everyone.

It looks really appealing and I was looking forward to reading it even before I had opened it. The cover design is perfect for this type of book although I would like to see a man, younger person and person of colour on the front. Of course, they are represented inside, but photos on the front may help it to reach a wider audience.

I really, really like this book. It is practical yet informative, easily navigated yet full of relevant information. The perfect size makes it suitable for handbag reading. I can imagine it being read on public transport and others going out to buy it based on the size and title alone. A great book; I will be buying copies to share with others.

Living with the effects of acinic cell carcinoma (36-45) (January 2016)

This is a really informative book for those living with cancer but I can also see it being a very useful tool for carers or relatives. It would be really useful for the whole treatment plan. The information on scalp cooling at the start would be really helpful in helping someone weigh up the options of scalp cooling. Similarly the information towards the end on Nutrition and Moving on, gives very useful tips.

It has a clear introduction and a structured approach to the topics covered. It is really easy to understand. Although technical words aren’t explained, there is a clear index along with an informative list of references, including websites. Its size makes it really appealing! It is very handy to put in a bag whilst on the move, to read in hospital for example. It is bright and the design colours and images on the front make it colourful and positive. Inside, the sectioning of the text and paragraphing alongside the images make it clear and easy to read. It’s informative without being too heavy.

I really like the tone. It’s positive and considerate and the quotes from patients and families give it a personal feel – it feels less like an information book. They cover a whole spectrum of areas of day-to-day living that I have struggled with throughout my treatment and I think I would have found it a really useful tool from the start. I didn’t find the sections on ‘what is a cream’ particularly useful or necessary.

A great little book to have throughout your cancer journey. As your beauty plan and lifestyle change, it would be a really useful point of reference to have on the side. I have found it really difficult to get quick and easy answers regarding beauty; if I had this book sooner, it would have been a lot less stressful to get answers!

Living with breast cancer (26-35) (November 2015)

I wish I’d had this book at diagnosis. It is aimed at the patient but would be a great tool for everyone affected to gain a better understanding of the changes that take place and how to be prepared to support the patient.

It is the perfect size, looks interesting and brings things to life with pictures, quotes and real-life snippets of information. It is really easy to read, understand and digest; it is not technical or over the top, just straightforward and to the point. It’s sympathetic but honest. There are no inaccuracies as such, but everyone has a different journey; I lost my hair but not my eyebrows, some people lose everything.

This is a great book and I definitely recommend it. I couldn’t put it down. It is a great way to communicate about some of the worst aspects of cancer, which can be hard to do. It’s a lovely well-executed book about some really personal and important things, especially for women, but is it applicable to men too. Although I have finished treatment I would have definitely found this very helpful and informative at the start. There is just enough information, not too much and the content never left me feeling awkward or upset. I really cannot wait to show this to my nurse to share with others.

In remission from large diffuse B-cell mediastinal lymphoma (26-35) (February 2016)

I wish I had found this book before I started my treatment. It covers all aspects of changes to your appearance resulting from cancer and describes many ways to deal with them and make yourself feel more confident. It is a good quality book with a nice cover design and good use of photos, especially for examples and instructions. It is set out very well and is easy to understand.

Breast cancer patient (Under 25) (February 2016)

This book deals with all aspects of cancer although it is aimed more at women. It looks at everything positively, flows very well and is very easy to understand. It has an eye-catching cover and is easy to handle and the typeface is a good size.

I like everything about this book. I like the sections in purple at the side of the pages that describe an experience or contain advice. The ‘Moving on’ chapter understands how the experience affects many people and is encouraging. The Appendix is excellent and there are bullet points of very good advice that can be read in a minute, eg wig care is as easy to follow as a recipe. I like that the models have been through the cancer experience and are having fun. There isn’t much I don’t like, just perhaps the assumption that therapists are available to all when this is not the case.

This is a five-star book without a doubt. It is an upbeat, feel-good-about-yourself book, full of good sound advice for patients, carers and family and friends.

Breast cancer survivor (56-65) (March 2016)

This is a very positive book that encourages you to make the best of the situation. It is particularly useful during treatment and also afterwards. It gives practical advice and tips on everyday things that men or women can do to feel a bit better about themselves and their appearance. It would be useful for anyone, for the patient or for their carer to pass on the tips that they think are most important.

It is very easy to understand, read and follow. It is split into different sections, which are highlighted at the beginning, so you can go straight to the parts you want to read. There is also an index at the back, which is useful. I didn’t notice any inaccuracies but as with a lot of tips, not all of them will be suitable in every case. I don’t feel that anything I would have wanted to know about has been missed out.

When I opened the book, it instantly made me smile and I was looking forward to reading it. The cover is hardwearing and glossy. The book is a good size and will fit in your bag if you want to carry it with you as a reference on the go. For example, there is a section to help you to read the ingredients labels on products so you could carry this book with you when you are out and about if you need some help with this. The paper is good quality and some pages are in colour, which is eye catching. The text is a good size and the font is easy to read. The pictures are of people who have had cancer and I find this quite inspiring; they all look great and are smiling!

I like the layout and that I can just flip between different sections depending on what I need to know at the time. I like that there are a variety of different tips and hints for the same thing. It is great that lots of topics are covered and that the book doesn’t dwell on them and become boring to read. I like that the author is in the field and appears to be writing from experience. She also quotes from other experts, which is reassuring. One great thing about the book is that it is useful for men too. There is a section specifically for them but a lot of the topics, for example, the skin care and dietary tips, are useful regardless of gender. It is one of the few books that I have seen that is applicable to both men and women. Well done!

There is nothing that I dislike about it but there are some suggestions that may not apply to everyone. For example, the author talks about appointing a nutritional therapist. I am not sure how easy this would be for all patients in terms of cost or availability. It is not the best book to help patients deal with things emotionally.

Overall, it is a very good book and I would recommend it. It is a practical book with hints and tips to help you through cancer.

Living with stage 2 Hodgkin lymphoma (26-35) (March 2016)

This is most useful when you have just been diagnosed or are starting treatment. It is not a book that focuses on a particular cancer but one that helps you through some of the side effects of cancer and its treatment and look after yourself. Some people may not feel that they are ready to read it when they are more worried about diagnosis and treatment than the best skin care.

It is easy to understand, there isn’t much technical detail. It does flow well but there are links to lots of appendices at the end of the book and you don’t know whether to read them at that point or when you have finished. It is an appealing book. The paper is nice and glossy and the images are good. Sometimes there is too much on some pages to read. Some more illustrations or photos would be good when talking about eye makeup and eyebrow make up as I found this a bit confusing. It is a small, thick book, quite heavy and awkward to hold and I had to bend the spine to read it.

I like that it covers everything without going into too much detail and losing the reader’s interest. Using cancer patients for the photos means we can relate to them.

Living with bowel cancer (26-35) (November 2015)

Everyone is different and so are their priorities in life. For those who want to keep their change in health private, it would be best to read this soon after diagnosis so that they can prepare before treatment starts. If nutrition and wellbeing are a priority, after or during treatment may be more appropriate. Just knowing about this book can allow individuals to make own decisions.

There are many good things about it: it covers a wide range of issues around beauty, health and recovery that are achievable; it is conscious of including men; it provides information from recognised health professionals but encourages readers to connect with their own health professional and to take a lead by identifying what is important and prioritising accordingly. It is straightforward and simple to understand. The index and the colour coding make it easy to find what you want. I like the summaries of key points at the end of each chapter and the personal quotes in the margins to reinforce significant messages. It is an appealing book though I am not sure about the cover picture. The author says that the women are not actors but I’m not convinced.

It is very useful if one manages to recognise the true self. Individuals could lose perspective on the reality of what is relevant to them and this could prove expensive. I will let people know it exists rather than recommend it.

Living with consequences of breast cancer (46-55) (December 2015)

This will be most useful for those going through chemotherapy. It is very easy to understand and there is a useful summary at the end of each chapter. The chapters are laid out in a logical order and topics are easy to identify. I like the quotes at the side of the pages. It is a pleasant and attractive book and the images are appropriate and relevant. The font style and layout is appealing.

It is nice to have a positive and practical book that is still relevant to people having treatment. The author is qualified in relevant fields and the book contains useful and practical information. It provides useful advice and recommends that you ensure any therapists are appropriately qualified. I think that patients would benefit from this book. I like it, but the comments from a minister might not suit all readers.

Living with breast cancer (56-65) (November 2015)

This is fantastic for anyone with cancer but also close friends and family to support and help that patient be more confident about the way they look. I have had cancer and also helped support someone recently diagnosed and this book is so useful for tips about what products to get. It also gives people the confidence to ask questions and to get the products and support they need at a time when they may just feel very overwhelmed. When I received my diagnosis I was so upset about how obvious cancer is. I would certainly lose my hair and I was really worried about people looking at me and just knowing and me looking so obviously unwell. This book helps to address some of those concerns in terms of alternatives to covering your bald head (scarves, wigs) and also beauty routines and clothes. A lot of it is commonsense and although I had to find a lot of this information myself, it’s nice to have it in one place; it’s just so well written and comforting. Although the cover has pictures of women and makeup brushes, there are also parts for men, which is nice to see.

It’s small but quite thick; a good size. The cover isn’t unappealing but didn’t really invite me to read it and I kept it on my shelf for a while before I could open it. Once I did, I was really impressed. The text is large, there are lots of pictures and it’s very colourful. It’s a great book to dip in and out of. The content flows very well – hair, face, body and then the self – and it is really well written; it’s as if the author is talking to you as a friend. It isn’t patronising or just another textbook-type book. I remember being overwhelmed by the amount of leaflets I was given at diagnosis and I suppose people now read even more information on the internet. It’s a lot to take in and not pleasant. The fact this book is comforting is so special.

I like that it’s easy to read. It addresses the issues and questions I know I certainly had before, during and after my treatment about my looks, hair, skin and what I could do to try to look as normal as possible. It’s colourful and I like that the photos are of real cancer patients and survivors. That is really important.

Cancer survivor (osteosarcoma) (26-35) (January 2016)

This is a lovely little book; ideal for someone newly diagnosed who is maybe struggling to cope with changes in their appearance or skin due to treatment. It is very well written and laid out and very easy to follow. There is a full list of references. The print and paper are nice and I love the size – it’s easy to hold and great to slip in your bag if you want to take it anywhere. I love the fact that they used real cancer patients in the photos, not models. However, I did find the way the print is off centred on the page made it difficult to read. It would have been much better if the paragraphs had been centred on each page. I also found that it focussed on breast cancer too much; women with other cancers have issues that are not addressed, like how to look after your skin after going into sudden menopause after a hysterectomy for a gynaecological cancer.

If you are the kind of woman for whom appearance means a lot then this book is great with lots of hints and tips to help you.

Five-year womb cancer survivor (46-55) (January 2016)

I would be circumspect about giving this book to just any cancer patient for fear of appearing to suggest that a cancer patient is automatically deemed to be less than beautiful! However, whilst the book is not exactly groundbreaking it does contain much useful information and could be useful when supporting someone suffering from low self-esteem due to the side effects of cancer treatment

The books flows logically being divided into clear sections: Hair; Face; Body; Self. The writing is straight to the point and without jargon. It is beautifully produced with some wonderful photography. It uses a huge font, there are many full-page photos, (some repeated for seemingly little reason?) and there is much blank space so it is not as substantial as it may at first seem. I did have a problem with the rather stiff binding that meant that it would not lie flat and needed both hands to hold it open.

It is well meaning, written from a sympathetic perspective and very well produced. It reinforces commonsense and is not radical in any way. There is a reference section but no information to link the references to the text, so the references are further reading rather than a back up of the text. Although the photography is extremely good, some opportunities were missed. The section on enhancing the eyes with make up after the loss or depletion of eyebrows and eyelashes is useful but complicated and a couple of photos of the intended results would be brilliant. I do have an issue with the title; it is rather unfortunate and it has never crossed my mind that people with cancer are any less beautiful! It is mostly directed towards women with a token nod towards men and hair loss.

Breast cancer patient (66-75) (November 2015)

People with cancer are often given lots of advice and may become so overloaded with information that it starts to bother them rather than give comfort. This addresses many appearance and wellbeing issues, without being longwinded. The instruction style could be what many cancer patients are looking for, especially those who are tired of people beating about the bush because they are perceived as “vulnerable” and needing extra-sensitive care.

It is a very appealing book with beautiful illustrations and the simple and cheerful cover indicates that the content will be quite light. The style is simple but straight to the point and offers a basic guide to maintaining appearance and confidence. It is a quick run-through, from wig-fitting, through skin hydration to make-up tips. The most helpful bits are the appendices on sleeping tips and wig care.

I would recommend this book to someone looking for a simple basic guide to maintain their appearance as they go through treatment. However, because it is a basic guide, it unfortunately misses out many details. Readers might have to complement it with other resources if they want more comprehensive information on how to keep themselves fresh and healthy during the treatment.

Relatives affected by liver and breast cancer (Under 25) (December 2015)

Although the cover states that this is ‘a practical guide to maintaining your appearance and well-being as you go through surgery, chemotherapy, or radiotherapy, or experience hair loss’, the content is heavily biased towards the effects of chemotherapy. It is most useful for understanding how appearance and confidence can be improved by some simple steps. I found some of the content useful, for example the sleep tips, which I had not read before.

It is quite a small book, but thick (277 pages). It is very easy to understand – no technical words needing explanation – but the section on skin care and applying makeup needs photos/diagrams to guide the reader. I became muddled when reading the instructions. The cover has photographs of women looking well and smiling and they are real patients, so are easy to relate to. Two pages of photographs often disrupt the flow of the text, which I found frustrating. I also found it frustrating that the references are at the end of the book. It is cumbersome to keep referring to the back and I soon gave up checking the source of the information.

Much of ‘Why Me?’ is by a reverend and refers to Jesus and God. Much of the sentiment could be covered without including religion and it could offend people of different or no faith. The chapter on nutrition talks about finding a nutritional therapist, but it isn’t clear if this is paid for by the NHS, or needs to be self funded. It implies that all cancer patients should have a nutritional therapist, which is misleading. Appendix 6 is entitled ‘Anti-ageing recipes’. I was looking forward to this, as I do enjoy new recipes. However, I was disappointed to find that there are only two and no indication of how or why they could help with anti-ageing. A few words advising of the nutritional benefits / anti-ageing properties of the ingredients would be useful.

The author has tried to cover a great deal of information in a limited amount of space and time. Some topics go into great depth, whilst others are only touched upon. However, the book is appealing to look at and to handle and would make a useful coffee table book/reference source.

Breast cancer patient, 56-65 (November 2015)

I like the overall approach of this book. Very few men but all ladies would find it interesting and useful. It will be particularly useful as the condition worsens but could be used throughout the journey. It is very simple and helpful and looks good with some good photographs.

I took advice from my wife who felt it was of good general use but not for me! I will probably recommend it to others, but was told to do so “with diplomacy”!!

Living with prostate cancer (Over 75) (January 2016)


Recognise Yourself: Beauty Despite Cancer